Sunday, March 9, 2014

Local farmer donates to Mitchell County Healthcare volunteers

Mitchell County farmer Diana Finley has directed a $2,500 donation to the Mitchell County Healthcare Volunteers. Funded by America’s Farmers Grow Communities, the donation will help the group purchase necessary equipment for the Mitchell County Hospital.
Thanks to the support of farmers across the country, more than $3.2 million is being directed to nonprofits in 1,289 counties in 39 states. “We feel so honored to be chosen by Diana Finley for this donation, through the America's Farmers Grow Communities program,” said Janet Mayo, president of the Mitchell County Healthcare Volunteers. “One of the main purposes of our group is to partner with the Mitchell County Hospital on any projects that support the health of our community.”
America’s Farmers Grow Communities works directly with farmers to support nonprofit organizations like the Mitchell County Healthcare Volunteers, who are doing important work in their communities. The program offers farmers the chance to win $2,500, which is then donated to the farmer’s nonprofit of choice. The search for funding to sustain and enhance programs is a year-round job for nonprofit organizations across the country. Through America’s Farmers Grow Communities, farmers have been able to support a variety of groups, such as schools, fire departments, community centers and youth organizations like 4-H and FFA.  America’s Farmers Grow Communities launched in 2010, and has since donated over $13 million to more than 5,200 nonprofit organizations across the country. America’s Farmers Grow Communities, sponsored by the Monsanto Fund, is part of the America’s Farmers initiative, which highlights and celebrates the important contributions of farmers like Diana Finley.
For a complete list of Grow Communities winners and more program information, please visit
Pictured Left to right:  Hudson Cain, Cooper Cain, Diana Finley, Helen Stubblefield (Vice President), Janet Mayo (President), Pearl Smith (Past President), Cherrie Dockrey (Secretary), Adeline Boyd (Treasurer), Tate Cain, Jearl Holland (Monsanto Representative).